Which God do you choose to remember?

Last night my husband read Deuteronomy 32 to me. Wow!
We sometimes sing the first part of Moses’ song:

ascribe greatness to our God!
“The Rock, his work is perfect, for all his ways are justice. A God of faithfulness and without iniquity, just and upright is he.
Deut 32:3b&4

But how often do we acknowledge the last few verses of his song? I know that I have read them before, but they still came as a shock when I heard them read aloud. I challenge you to think about the above fairly well known verses in the light of those last two verses bellow:

39 “‘See now that I, even I, am he, and there is no god beside me; I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal; and there is none that can deliver out of my hand.
40 For I lift up my hand to heaven and swear, As I live forever,
41 if I sharpen my flashing sword and my hand takes hold on judgment, I will take vengeance on my adversaries and will repay those who hate me.
42 I will make my arrows drunk with blood, and my sword shall devour flesh- with the blood of the slain and the captives, from the long-haired heads of the enemy.’
43 “Rejoice with him, O heavens; bow down to him, all gods, for he avenges the blood of his children and takes vengeance on his adversaries. He repays those who hate him and cleanses his people’s land.”

Bare in mind that in mind that in the intermediate verses He hands His people over to the idols and common gods of their choice, and then sends calamity to show them their need for Him. He uses disaster to cleanse us, and bring us back to Him. In Moses’ song, God challenges the people. He asks them why their petit gods don’t protect them, why they prove to be no refuge at all (Verse 37&38).

The lesser known part of this song might seem darker, but as someone who has often struggled with depression (and who has helped others through it), I suggest that ignoring it is to ignore the greatest hope there is for those of us who see the real darkness easily. By implication, God is saying that He is the true refuge & protection (v 37&38); and that if we turn to Him, we can also receive healing, life and deliverance (v 39).

He will also ensure true justice (v 41). He sees and knows all, and when He comes to take us to heaven, true justice will be served & all who enter will be cleansed (v 43). This should cause both fear and hope. Too often we avoid the fear, and in so doing we loose the hope. But many, many of us need the hope! So lets rather remember that if we turn to Him, he will heal and deliver us, that way we deal with the fear by ensuring that we are on the side of hope, instead of doing away with both fear and hope together.

As I face another week, I am going to try to do it calling out to the God & Rock of healing, life & deliverance, who is able to protect & deliver me from all evil (past, present & future); and in so doing, I choose to embrace the hope of His justice.

I know that all things will work out ok, not because of blind hope, but because I rest in the all-powerful hands of the fearfully powerful God of all! A god of faithfulness and justice, whose work is perfect and without blemish, and who is upright & without corruption. What a relief to be nestled in the palm of such a leader.

“The Rock, his work is perfect, for all his ways are justice. A God of faithfulness and without iniquity, just and upright is he.
Deut 32:3b&4

All scripture quoted from ESV (English Standard Version), photo from NIV (New International Version).

Leave a Reply

